(512) 565-8844

CAMPUS CRIMES IN CENTRAL TEXAS

General Law

<< Back to Blog

This guide provides basic information for parents and students on campus crimes in New Braunfels and Central Texas. Students and juveniles in Central Texas counties, such as Comal, Hays, and Guadalupe, are usually given lighter punishments because of their age. However, students face additional consequences for committing crimes on campus and while attending school. 

For example, even if a judge gives a student a probated sentence, a student may have difficulty applying for federal student loans, grants, or degree programs. In other words, a criminal conviction, probated or not, can remain on an individual’s record throughout their life. The defendant may be a high school student who made a mistake, but this blunder could stop them from getting the job of their choice. 

I Can Help

Here’s the thing: I can help. I am a former federal and Texas prosecutor that understands the concerns of parents and students. I hold degrees from Harvard University, Southern Methodist University, and the University of Texas at Austin. So, I am very familiar with students’ particular needs and the impact that mistakes can have on their educational careers. 

My principal office is in New Braunfels; I serve students in high schools and colleges in Austin, San Antonio, San Marcos, and Central Texas. I help students at Texas State Universitythe University of Texas at AustinSt. Edward’s UniversityAustin Community College, the University of Texas at San Antonio, and St. Mary’s University.

Will I Lose My Scholarship?

One question college students often ask is whether or not they will lose their scholarships due to a criminal conviction. The short answer is, “Possibly, yes.” Criminal convictions can impede a student’s ability to obtain financial aid. They can also provide the grounds for colleges to revoke scholarships. 

Convictions for common campus crimes such as sex and drug offenses result in denying federal student aid and Pell Grants. Private schools and universities have discretion on how they handle allegations of wrongdoing and crimes committed by their students. However, private schools take criminal arrests and convictions as seriously as their public counterparts. 

How Are DUI/DWI Handled?

recent study showed that car crashes are a leading cause of teen deaths. About a quarter of fatal crashes involve an underage drinking driver. In 2020, 29% of young drivers 15 to 20 years old killed in crashes had BACs of 0.01 or higher.

To reduce alcohol-related fatal crashes among youth, Texas adopted a minimum legal drinking age of 21. The State can charge an individual with a DWI if the person has a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) over 0.08 or has lost the normal use of their mental and physical faculties. 

Individuals under 21 years old cannot have any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. If the police catch them driving with any alcohol in their system, the State can charge them with driving under the influence (DUI). 

Contact me for a free case review if you or your student is charged with a campus crime in Comal County or other Central Texas counties such as Hays County, Guadalupe County, Travis County, or Bexar County.