(512) 565-8844 lance@lancekennedy.com


General Law

<< Back to Blog

This article is a brief guide to Hays County’s Courts. Located in Central Texas between Austin and San Antonio, Hays County’s largest city and county seat is San Marcos. Other cities include Kyle, Buda, and Dripping Springs.

District courts, county courts-at-law, municipal courts, and Justice of the Peace courts serve Hays County. The court in which a case is filed depends on the offense’s severity and the location where the alleged crime occurred.

Hays County’s District Courts

The State files all felony offenses in Hays County’s five district courts.

  • 22nd District Court
  • 207th District Court
  • 274th District Court
  • 428th District Court
  • 453rd District Court

District courts have jurisdiction over all felony criminal cases.

Hays County’s County Courts-at-Law

The State files Class A and B misdemeanors in Hays County’s three courts-at-law. These cases include first and second driving while intoxicated and assault family violence.

Municipal and Justice of the Peace Courts

Class C misdemeanors, such as speeding and other traffic violations within city limits, are filed in municipal courts such as the San Marcos Municipal Court. If the Class C violation occurs outside city limits, the State will file the case in a Justice of the Peace court.

Contact me for a free case review if you want to clear a criminal record in Comal County or other Central Texas counties such as Hays County, Guadalupe County, Travis County, or Bexar County.