(512) 565-8844 lance@lancekennedy.com


General Law

<< Back to Blog

In the heart of Central Texas, nestled between the thriving cities of Austin and San Antonio, is Guadalupe County. This county is home to an intricate, multilayered court system. Guadalupe County’s Court System is not only crucial for maintaining law and order, but it also plays a pivotal role in the lives of its residents and visitors.

Understanding the court system is essential for everyone, from a casual visitor receiving a traffic violation to a long-term resident facing a serious charge. The Texas court system, particularly in Guadalupe County, consists of different courts each with its own specific jurisdiction and role. This includes district courts, county courts-at-law, municipal courts, and Justice of the Peace courts, all of which work in unison to ensure justice is served across the county.

District Courts

Guadalupe County’s Court System hosts four distinct district courts, each playing a significant role in the administration of justice. These courts include:

  1. 25th District Court
  2. 2nd 25th District Court
  3. 274th District Court
  4. 456th District Court

District courts in Guadalupe County hold jurisdiction over all felony criminal cases. In the Texas Court System, a felony is considered a crime of high severity, and it’s these district courts that handle such cases. Felony offenses can vary greatly, from violent crimes like assault and robbery to non-violent offenses such as fraud and embezzlement. Regardless of the nature of the crime, these courts ensure that the legal proceedings are carried out with utmost fairness and diligence.

County Courts-at-Law

In addition to the district courts, Guadalupe County’s Court System includes two courts-at-law. These courts hold jurisdiction over Class A and B misdemeanors. This type of offense is less severe than a felony but still carries significant legal implications.

Class A and B misdemeanors encompass a variety of offenses, including first and second instances of driving while intoxicated (DWI) and cases of assault family violence. The impact of these misdemeanors on an individual’s record can be substantial, and the county courts-at-law work to ensure these cases are processed with the same level of care and consideration as their district court counterparts.

Municipal and Justice of the Peace Courts

An essential component of the Texas Court System, particularly Guadalupe County’s Court System, is the role of municipal courts and Justice of the Peace courts. These courts handle Class C misdemeanors and traffic violations within their respective jurisdictions.

Examples of Class C misdemeanors include minor offenses such as speeding and other traffic violations that occur within city limits. These are typically handled by municipal courts, such as the Seguin Municipal Court. However, if a Class C violation occurs outside city limits, the case is filed in a Justice of the Peace court.

Importance of a Criminal Defense Attorney

Navigating the complexities of the court system can be challenging, especially in the face of criminal charges. A criminal defense attorney can be a valuable ally, assisting defendants in understanding their rights and options, and representing them in court to ensure fair treatment.

A well-versed defense attorney can help:

  • Interpret the law and the charges filed against you.
  • Discuss potential plea bargains and strategies for your case.
  • Navigate the intricacies of the court system and ensure all paperwork is correctly filed.
  • Represent you in court, presenting evidence to support your case and cross-examining prosecution witnesses.

When seeking an attorney for criminal defense in Guadalupe County, consider their expertise, reputation, and familiarity with the local court system. Personal referrals, online reviews, and free consultations can all be valuable tools in finding the right legal representation for your case.

Record Clearance and Legal Advice

If you have a criminal record in Guadalupe County or other Central Texas counties such as Hays County, Travis County, or Bexar County, you might be interested in exploring record clearance procedures. Clearing a criminal record can open up opportunities for employment, housing, and other aspects of life that a conviction may otherwise hinder.

The process of record clearance can be complex, requiring a detailed understanding of the law and often necessitating the submission of specific legal documents. That’s where a professional legal consultation can be invaluable. Legal professionals can provide advice tailored to your unique circumstances and guide you through the trial process in central Texas, from filing the initial application to representing you in court if necessary.

Remember, no matter your legal needs, there are resources available to help. At Lance Kennedy Law, I offer free case reviews to individuals across Guadalupe County and other Central Texas counties who are seeking to clear their criminal records and regain their peace of mind. If you’re facing legal issues and need a New Braunfels DWI attorney, don’t hesitate to reach out to me and ensure you’re taking the best possible steps toward resolution.