(512) 565-8844 lance@lancekennedy.com


General Law

<< Back to Blog

This article is a brief guide to Comal County’s Courts. Located in Central Texas between Austin and San Antonio, Comal County’s largest city and county seat is New Braunfels. Other cities include Schertz and Bulverde.

District courts, county courts-at-law, municipal courts, and Justice of the Peace courts serve Comal County. The court in which a case is filed depends on the offense’s severity and the location where the alleged crime occurred.

Comal County’s District Courts

The State files all felony offenses in Comal County’s five district courts:

  • 207th District Court
  • 22nd District Court
  • 274th District Court
  • 433rd District Court
  • 466th District Court

District courts have jurisdiction over all felony criminal cases.

Comal County’s County Courts-at-Law

The State files Class A and B misdemeanors in Comal County’s three courts-at-law. These cases include first and second driving while intoxicated and assault family violence. Additionally, the courts-at-law run specialty programs such as Veterans Treatment and Accountability Courts

The Veterans Treatment Court is designed to help veterans by diverting them from the traditional criminal justice system. It provides them with the tools they need to reintegrate into a productive, law-abiding lifestyle through a collaborative effort of support, treatment, and accountability.

The Accountability Court is designed for defendants convicted of their second DWI. Participants in the rigorous three-phase program are given tools to enable them to be sober, law-abiding members of society.

Municipal and Justice of the Peace Courts

Class C misdemeanors, such as speeding and other traffic violations within city limits, are filed in municipal courts such as the New Braunfels Municipal Court. If the Class C violation occurs outside city limits, the State will file the case in a Justice of the Peace court.

Contact me for a free case review if you want to clear a criminal record in Comal County or other Central Texas counties such as Hays County, Guadalupe County, Travis County, or Bexar County.